Dawson College D Discover

Student for a day

Some programs at Dawson College offer future students the opportunity to spend a day attending classes from their program, meeting teachers and fellow students and visiting their classrooms and facilities.

Please note that not all programs offer this activity. Below you will find a list of the ones that offer student for a day. If you are interested in a program that is not listed below, we suggest that you get in touch with that program’s coordinator.

You may contact Dawson College at 514-931-8731, along with the appropriate extension.

3D Animation & Computer Generated Imagery

Program Contact: Helen Wawrzetz

Check the schedule below and then contact Helen Wawretz at ext 3200 or by e-mail at hwawrzetz@dawsoncollege.qc.ca to select a date.

Fall 2014 Schedule


Biomedical Laboratory Technology

Mini-Biomed Lab Day is offered to students who are interested in applying to the Biomedical Laboratory Technology Program. The day is designed to give students  a taste of actual laboratory work and to give them a better understanding of the Program.

Program Contact: Karen Gabriele
Dates offered: To be announced (2 Saturdays to be scheduled in January)

For more information and to be included in the event, please contact Penny Smith by e-mail at psmith@place.dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Business and Administration programs: Accounting and Marketing

Program Contact: Fabienne Cyrius

Thank you for your interest. Our next available visits will be in January and February. For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Fabienne Cyrius at ext 5111 or by e-mail at fcyrius@dawsoncollege.qc.ca


Creative Arts, Literature and Languages: Arts & Culture

Program Contact: Amanda Cockburn

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Amanda Cockburn at ext 1287 or by e-mail at acockburn@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Creative Arts, Literature and Languages: Cinema, Video & Communications

Program Contact: Phil Vitone

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Phil Vitone at ext 1257 or by e-mail at pvitone@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Creative Arts, Literature and Languages: Interactive Media Arts

Program Contact: Shawn Bell

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Shawn Bell at ext 1266 or by e-mail at sbell@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Creative Arts, Literature and Languages: Languages

Program Contact: Nelly Muresan

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Nelly Muresan at ext 1329 or by e-mail at nmuresan@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Creative Arts, Literature and Languages: Literature

Program Contact: Neil Hartlen

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Neil Hartlen at ext 1628 or by e-mail at nhartlen@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Creative Arts, Literature and Languages: Studio Arts (previously named Visual Arts)

Program Contact: Julianna Joos

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Julianna Joos at ext 3306 or by e-mail at jjoos@dawsoncollege.qc.ca. Classes are all 3 hours long. Students usually choose one from the morning and one from the afternoon.

Fall 2014 Schedule


Community Recreation Leadership Training

Program Contact: David Nagels

Click here to watch a video about the student for a day program in CRLT.

CRLT has students sign up for this activity at the Dawson open house event. Several days in the months of October and November are set aside to host. For more information please contact David Nagels at ext 5093 or by e-mail at dnagels@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Electronics Engineering Technology

Program Contact: Jimmy Plaitis

The Electronics Engineering Technology department welcomes students to their laboratories on October 24 as well as on November 1, 7, 8, 14 and 22.

Fall 2013 Schedule

For more information, and to make arrangements please contact Jimmy Plaitis at: jplaitis@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Graphic Design

Program Contact: Chantal Audet
The Graphic Design Department at Dawson College runs a ‘student-for-a-day’ program each fall.

We invite students to sit in on a couple of regularly scheduled classes for a while. We hope that this allows potential applicants to experience an hour or so in the life of a graphic design student. It is not meant to be an intimidating process, but one where they can look at the facilities, see the kind of projects that are being done, and talk to current students.

This activity usually takes place in November.

Students who want to participate should send the following information to:

Chantal Audet by e-mail at:
caudet@dawsoncollege.qc.ca

  • name
  • name of high school
  • e-mail address/contact phone number

The details of their visit will be confirmed by e-mail.


Illustration and Design

Program Contact: Helen Wawrzetz

Check the schedule below and then contact Helen Wawretz at ext 3200 or by e-mail at hwawrzetz@dawsoncollege.qc.ca to select a date.

Fall 2014 Schedule


Industrial Design

Program Contact: David Weeks

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact David Weeks at ext 5102 or by e-mail at dweeksl@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Interior Design

Program Contact: Leigh Barnett-Shapiro
Dates offered: Thursday, February 5 and Friday, February 6, 2015

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Leigh at ext 3406 or by e-mail at lshapiro@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.

Letter to prospective Interior Design students


Laboratory Technology – Analytical Chemistry

Program Contact: Silja Makinen
Date Offered:  TBD

For more information, please contact Silja Makinen at ext 1668 or by email at smakinen@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Liberal Arts

Program Contact: Beverly Sing
For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Beverly Sing by email at bsing@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Mechanical Engineering Technology

Program Contact: Shoukry Aboulehaf

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Shoukry at ext 5005 or by e-mail at saboulehaf@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Physical Rehabilitation

Program Contact: Gemabelle Ligardo

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Gemabelle Ligardo at ext 1270 or by e-mail: gligardo@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Professional Photography

Program Contact: Claudio Calligaris

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Claudio by e-mail: ccalligaris@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Professional Theatre

Program Contact: Barbara Kelly

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Barbara Kelly at ext 1233 or by e-mail: bkelly@dawsoncollege.qc.ca or contact Dr. Doug Buchanan at ext 1236 or by email at dbuchanan@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.

Student for a Day visits are available on most Thursdays and Fridays in November 2012, and in February and March 2013.


Radiation Oncology

Program Contact: Giovanna Miceli

For more information and to arrange a visit to one of their clinical sites, please contact Giovanna at ext 1356 or by e-mail at gmiceli@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Science

Program Contact: Brian Mader

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Brian at ext 1690 or by e-mail bmader@place.dawsoncollege.qc.ca.


Social Science

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact the following individuals via e-mail:

Profile Contacts:


Social Science: North-South Studies

Program Contact: David Olesik
Date and time suggested: During the North-South meetings on Fridays from 11:30 am – 1:00 pm

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact David at ext 1815 or by e-mail at dolesik@dawsoncollege.qc.ca or at david@olesik.com.


Social Service

Program Contact: Shirley Watkins
Dates offered: Wednesday, January 22, 2014

For more information and to RSVP, please contact Shirley at ext 5088 or by e-mail at swatkins@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.

Invitation to prospective Social Service students


Visual Arts (formerly named Fine Arts)

Program Contact: Naomi London

For more information and to arrange a visit, please contact Naomi by e-mail nlondon@dawsoncollege.qc.ca.

Check the list of classes available to audit for a day and select one. Fall 2014 Schedule


Last updated on 2014-01-24.

Last Modified: August 27, 2014

 


All contents Copyright 2014 © Dawson College. Please notify the webmaster of any changes/corrections.

Dawson College • 3040 Sherbrooke St. W. • Westmount, Quebec • H3Z 1A4 • (514) 931 - 8731


MyDawson portal login
Sun August 31, 2014
Search powered by Google Search button
Dawson Home
Info Desk

Content