Do you know any outstanding students?


→The Anastasia De Sousa Memorial Award – 1 recipient of $1500

This award commemorates the intelligence, drive, and determination of Anastasia De Sousa, who was killed during the shooting tragedy at Dawson College on September 13, 2006.

This award is given to a full-time (or deemed full-time) graduating student, who has a learning disability and has been able to overcome one or more major obstacles on the road to academic success.
AccessAbility Centre staff can nominate students for this award.

→The Bruno Mital ‘B’ Positive Scholarship – 1 recipient of $ 1000

This scholarship is named after Bruno Mital who was a graduate of the CRLT program at Dawson College and chairperson of the Dawson College Board of Governor’s for two years. It is designed to recognize a graduating student who has gone above and beyond to help their community, their fellow students, or the Dawson community, without seeking recognition.
Dawson College faculty, staff, and students can nominate students for this award.

→The Paul Gallagher Award – 3 recipients of $500

This award, named after Dawson College’s first Director General, is given to up to three graduating students in recognition of their significant contribution to student life. The most important criteria are leadership, contribution to College life, and participation in student government, sports, or other college activities.
Dawson College faculty or staff members can nominate students for this award.

Please nominate through your Omnivox portal

Nomination deadline: April 5, 2023.

For more information, see the Awards and Scholarships webpage or email

If you would like to participate in one of our Awards Selection Committees please sign up here:

Last Modified: March 22, 2023